Gary Jobson is a world class sailor, television commentator and author based in Annapolis,
Maryland.  Gary has authored 18 sailing books and is Editor at Large of Sailing World and Cruising World magazines. He is a Vice President of the International Sailing Federation.

Jobson covered the 34th America's Cup for NBC. He won an A.C.E. (Award for Cable Excellence) for the 1987 America's Cup on ESPN.  In 1988 Jobson won an Emmy for his production of sailing at the Olympic Games in South Korea, and won an Emmy for the 2006 Volvo Ocean Race on PBS.  His newest books are and Nantucket:  A Sailing
and Gary Jobson: An American Sailing Story. Jobson recently produced a documentary promoting nuclear energy titled, Energy on Trial. In 2013 Jobson was presented a Telly Award (Recognizes distinction in creative work in broadcast/non-broadcast video productions) for Unfurling the World  The Voyages of Irving and Electa Johnson.

He has won many championships in one design classes, the America's Cup with Ted Turner, the infamous Fastnet Race and many of the world's ocean races. In college at SUNY Maritime he was an All American sailor three times and was twice named College Sailor of the Year. Gary is also an active cruising sailor.  He has led ambitious expeditions to the Arctic, Antarctica and Cape Horn. 

Jobson was inducted into the National Sailing Hall of Fame (2011) and the America's Cup Hall of Fame (2003)  by the Herreshoff Marine Museum.  In 1999 Jobson won the Nathanael G. Herreshoff Trophy, US SAILING's most prestigious award. He was elected President of the National Sailing Hall of Fame in January 2013. 

Gary has been the National Chairman of The Leukemia Cup Regatta program since 1994. These events have raised over $48 million to date. In 2012 the University of Maryland Medical School established The Gary Jobson Professorship in Medical Oncology. Jobson was awarded a Doctor of Letters from the State University of New York Maritime College in 2005 and a Doctor of Human Letters from Lakeland College in 2013. 

Over the past thirty-five years Gary has given over 2000 lectures throughout the world.  He started his career as a sailing coach at the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy and the U.S. Naval Academy. He is a Past President of US Sailing (2009-2012). 

Gary and his wife, Janice, have three grown daughters, Kristi, Ashleigh and Brooke
and two grandsons, Declan and Franklin.            

Gary Jobson Awards

2013    Mystic Seaport Museum's America and the Sea Award

2013    Telly Award  Unfurling the World  The Voyages of Irving and Electa Johnson

2013    US Sailing Councilor of Honor

2013    Lakeland College  Doctor of Humane Letters

2013    Hope Funds Award of Excellence for Advocacy

2012    Baltimore Sun Top 175 Maryland Athletes

2012    ICSA Hall of Fame Lifetime Service Award

2012    Richard S. Nye Trophy (Cruising Club of America)

2011    Miles River Yacht Club Foundation Distinguished Service Award

2011    National Sailing Hall of Fame Inductee

2011    Robert Tiedemann Award for Courage - Hope Funds for Cancer Research

2011    George Hinman Award - Manhasset Bay Yacht Club

2011    Charles M. Leighton Award for Outstanding Service - U.S. Olympic Sailing

2010    Storm Trysail Foundation Award  - 1979 Fastnet Race

2010    The Hugh Kilmer Trophy - Storm Trysail Club

2009    New York Yacht Club Medal

2009    State University of New York Maritime College - Alumni Service Award

2008    Telly Award (Recognizes distinction in creative work in broadcast/non-broadcast video productions) Go Beyond: The Outward Bound Wilderness Experience

2007    John Southam Award (2006 Broadcast Category) Awarded by Sail America

2007    John Southam Award (2006 Lecture Series) Awarded by Sail America

2006    National Capital Chesapeake Bay Emmy Awards

2006    CINE Golden Eagle Award - MPT - Volvo Ocean Race Up the Chesapeake

2006    National Maritime Historical Society - Distinguished Service Award

2006    Anne Arundel County Sports Hall of Fame

2006    Steward of the 12-Metre Yacht Club - Newport Station

2005    Admiral of the Chesapeake Bay - State of Maryland

2005    Arnold C. Gay Award  - Annapolis Yacht Club

2005    SUNY Maritime College Degree of Doctorate of Letters

2005    Annapolis and Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce Business Hall of Fame

2005    Burgee of Merit -  Newport Harbor Yacht Club

2005    James M. Webster Perpetual Trophy  - Southern California Yachting Association

2004    John Southam Award (2004 Yachting Olympics) - NBC Coverage - Awarded by Sail America

2004    State University of New York Maritime College "Outstanding Graduate" inducted into Heritage Hall

2004    The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society's Spiral of Life Award

2004    Barnegat Bay Sailing Hall of Fame

2004    Lifetime Achievement Award by Annapolis/Anne Arundel County Chamber of Commerce

2004    Named a Paul Harris Fellow by the Rotary Foundation of Rotary International

2003    Herreshoff Museum America's Cup Hall of Fame                                             

2003    Best Sports Book of 2002 (Fighting Finish) Awarded by  Independent Publisher Book Awards in America

2002    Clarion Award for Best Book 2002 (Fighting Finish)

2002    Jersey Shore Sports Hall of Fame

2002    John Southam Award (Expedition to the Arctic)  Awarded by Sail America

2000    City of Annapolis Maritime Heritage Hall of Fame                                                        

1999    Nathaniel G. Herreshoff Award -  US SAILING                                              

1997    Joe Prosser Award for Excellence in Sailing Instruction - US SAILING                        

1996    State University of New York:  Honor Roll

1996    Milwaukee Sailor of the Year

1995    Charles R. Smith Jr. Trophy - Annapolis Yacht Club

1990    Toms River Regional School's Hall of Fame

1988    Emmy Award - 1988 Olympic Games - Yachting

1988    National Marine Manufacturers Director's Award         

1987    Cable Ace Awards - 1987 America's Cup

1983    S.U.N.Y. Maritime College    Athletic Hall of Fame

1982    Sailing World Hall of Fame

1977    America's Cup Winning Tactician

1973    SUNY Maritime Parent's Association for the Cadet who contributed the most to the College

1973    SUNY Maritime College's Athletic Association to the Outstanding Athlete

1972, 1973      Intercollegiate Sailor of the Year          

1971, 1972, 1973        All America Intercollegiate Sailing Team

1966    Powell Trophy  - Outstanding Junior Sailor - Barnegat Bay

The 2012 National Sailing Hall of Famers